lorenzo quinn

Since I was already in Manchester, on my way back to the station I stopped by Castle Fine Art in King Street and admired the pieces exhibited there.

Lorenzo Quinn

I have followed Lorenzo Quinn since his hands in Venice during the Biennale in 2017, and since part of the work I used to do years ago in Italy was connected with bronze statues (say no more), I was not disappointed.

Venice-Biennale-Lorenzo-Quinn-2017

As much as I am aware of the fact that the gallery is there to sell the pieces, I was left somewhat displeased by the display of the asking price. Not because of the amount (art is art and good art is good art), but because I was probably expecting that people went there to admire the craftsmanship and the pieces first, and then to buy them. Some subtleness and taste in the art of selling were, in my point of view, lacking.

Still, I have to say that some of the pieces were really breathtaking, even if presented in different sizes and formats.

lorenzo quinn mosaic 01

SELF•REFL : I left with a bitter taste in my mouth. Am I too naive?!

Leave a comment